2018.3 Service Update

Release Notes

We're pleased to announce our 2018.3 Service Update, which contains the following:

Exclude Custom Folder and File Paths from Backup

automatically excludes files and folders that would be of no value in a restore (for example, cache files) from backup. Excluding those items offers two significant benefits. First, there's less data to back up, so your backups finish faster. Second, these kinds of files are often difficult to back up because they change almost constantly; if they're excluded, backup is more robust.

Since we can't know how you've structured your files, there's no way for us to automatically exclude everything that probably should be excluded from backup.

With this new feature, you can add your own custom paths and files to exclude from backup sets, making faster and more efficient.

To learn how to add and manage file and folder exclusions, please refer to Backup Exclusions.

Single Sign-On

Until now, your backups could only be accessed by launching Online through the Desktop interface. While this worked perfectly in the majority of cases, it was sometimes difficult to retrieve critical backups in an emergency.

Imagine a situation in which your machine fails an hour before a big presentation. You can get your hands on a replacement laptop, but without installing Desktop on that replacement, you wouldn't be able to get to your backups.

Once single sign-on (SSO) is configured for you, you can access your backups through an IdP (Identity Provider), allowing you to securely retrieve your backups anywhere, any time, on any device.

SSO offers the following features:

  • SAML 2.0 protocol is used to authenticate access to Online.
  • Users have exactly the same access and features as when they access Online via Desktop.
  • SSO Apps are available for Okta and Microsoft Azure, but you can configure it for any IdP
  • SSO only works with a primary accounts, so if you want to use SSO to login to multiple or Autotask Workplace accounts, be sure to use email alias for your IUL teams!

For more information, please refer to Single Sign-On.

Notification Issue Resolved

Users whose accounts had been terminated will no longer receive notifications under any circumstances.